jump to navigation

The Myth of Kyrrell Swamp – Chapter 2 Part 8 September 28, 2009

Posted by Yarnspnr in The Myth of Kyrrell Swamp - Chapter II.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

It is better to be hated for what you are
Than loved for what you are not.

– Andre Gide


Chapter II.8:  OutSider

© D. Erick Emert

training uni

Briggs awoke early, his body and head wet with sweat.  His right leg twitched.  Why am I feeling this? This is not Earth, he thought. Jesus Christ does not exist here. No one died for anyone on Erde. I must bend. I must change to exist.

He got out of bed and drew hot water into the tub. The darkness did not bother him. Somehow, he felt more settled in the dark, it comforted his nerves. He felt hidden from his fears. In the darkness he could be with Sarah.

He settled into the hot water and his mind drifted to her. Her smile. Always he would remember her smile. Her features looked down on him now. Thin lips, brown hair parted in the middle with a small bun on the left side. Large eyes that mesmerized him with their depth of knowing, caring.

I must do this my Sarah. I can see no other way. Peter denied Christ three times and God forgave him. Surely I shall be forgiven as well.

Tears rolled down his cheeks and his right leg twitched again. He sobbed quietly to himself until the light of morning began filling his room. Quietly he rose, toweled himself off and dressed in the baggy green shirt and pants that had been provided for him. He hated for his future to be dependent on others. He hated his own lack of control in this.  He swallowed hard and sat down at his desk, reaching for a book titled Aboriginal Tribes of Erde.

*

Two weeks later, Briggs sat in front of D’Angusio’s desk looking over a sheet of paper he had been asked to sign.  It read:

I, Benjamin Spooner Briggs, do solemnly swear
that I have brought no guns, gunpowder or any
other kind of illegal weapon into Erde. I also
swear I have nothing whatsoever to do with
religion, renouncing any belief in God, Allah,
Jehovah, Jesus Christ, Buddha, or any other God
named or unnamed in this document. I swear my
allegiance to the Empire of Uppsala and the
Empire only shall benefit from my service as of
this day forth. I shall live to serve rather
than serve to live.

Briggs took a deep breath and asked, “Tell me, sir. Is there a chance that my wife and child still live?”

“Of course there is,” D’Angusio answered. “Southern Erde has a long coastline. The other members of your crew could have ended up anywhere. The fact that fisherman picked you up doesn’t mean the rest couldn’t have survived and been found by one of the tribes that reside in the forests to the south.”

All the while D’Angusio responded to his question, Briggs drummed the fingers of his right hand on the table. With the answer concluded, Briggs picked up the pen and signed his name with a flourish.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

